Posted by: Frank | 12/20/2012

“Aloha” is NOT really Dead in Hawaii!

 

My effort to make a short story LONG,

Here is just ONE meaning for Aloha, which is the one that I have always tried to abide by since I was introduced to this State in the ’70’s:

“Aloha” is more than a word of greeting or farewell or a salutation. “Aloha” means mutual regard and affection and extends warmth in caring with no obligation in return.

If you’ve forgotten the other definitions, check here:  http://uhcc.hawaii.edu/aloha/liveAloha.php

To my dismay, since we moved here over eight years ago I have mostly seen a façade that has been, for the past several months (or perhaps going back to 2008) I have been feeling that “Aloha” was no longer something the MAJORITY of people in Hawaii embraced.

We hear the “Word” Aloha almost daily from someone, yet those that say it often just say it as a greeting or simple acknowledgement that you are close to their space.

Today I discovered that after months of hauling six or more tons of rock every month, a lay off of two months was a real downer. Today I picked up two loads, about 2400 pounds of rock and feel like every muscle in my body aches! So walking is good for cardio and endurance but need to do some weights for strength.

My “Aloha Story”:

Today I was down at the bottom of my slope unloading the first load and about half undone when the FedEx truck went by delivering packages just up the street. He did than and came down the hill and drove by me, pulling in right in front of my truck. Moments later he stopped and got out, walking towards me.  Since he didn’t have a package, I was a tad puzzled but said ‘aloha’ to which he replied the same. He walked up to me, smiled and said, “Looks like you’re working hard and could use some help!”

Without further ado he jumped into the back of my truck and started tossing rocks out into the pile I had created. It took less than five minutes for us to finish the job then he jumped to the ground. I thanked him and we chatted for a couple of minutes, about rocks and the work I was doing, then he was back in his truck and driving to his next delivery. 

To say that I was surprised is an understatement, it was the first time I had experienced something like this and I  make me feel great. Martha and I try to live what we feel, there ARE others out there that are happy to give without thought for themselves. It’s a good feeling!

Aloha

yes1


Leave a Reply

Categories

